Schenna - Holiday in South Tyrol

Blooming gardens and an alpine panorama. Feudal castles and secluded alpine huts. Gourmet restaurants and traditional wood-panelled rooms. Luxury hotels and historic farms. Wellness oasis and hiking pleasures.

Schenna is characterised by a special mix of South Tyrolean charm and Mediterranean lifestyle. The seven village districts located on a sunny slope above Meran await all types of holiday-makers.

Palm trees or alpine pastures?

Schenna with its seven village districts is embedded between vineyards and orchards over an area of 48 km². While in Schenna village you'll enjoy a Mediterranean lifestyle under palm trees and cypresses at 600 metres above sea level, the landscape in the mountain village Videgg at 1,536 m is truly alpine.

Apple blossom or golden autumn?

Schenna enjoys more than 300 days of sun, and is therefore worth a visit during any season of the year: in spring, the air is filled with the scent of millions of apple flowers. In summer, the alpine roses bloom on the alpine meadows. Golden-yellow wine leaves in the valleys and on the slopes in autumn. And in winter, white mountain peaks beneath a blue sky.

Irrigation channel or mountain tour?

Schenna offers great hiking fun for pleasure hikers and mountaineers in the areas of Hirzer Mountain (2,781 m) and Ifinger (2,581 m): Along the irrigation channels you'll find easy hiking paths. Comfortable hikes lead up to alpine huts and pastures. Alpinists can enjoy the fantastic view of Meraner Land during their mountain tours. The Schenna hiking area includes 200 kilometres of sign-posted trails at various altitudes and of different levels of difficulty. Five cable cars and two chairlifts are ideal for easily reaching high altitudes. The Schenna Card saves you money.

History or modern art?

Four churches from across eight centuries and the Habsburg Schenna Castle attract culture-lovers. During an art-historic guided tour you can visit the Mausoleum, the grave of Archduke Johann. The Gardens of Trauttmansdorff Castle and the modern sculpture project ArtBank show the cultural variety of Schenna.

Cycling or ski tours?

Swimming in pools of a total length of five kilometres. Mountain-bike tour to Taser Pasture. Or paragliding from the middle station Hirzer – Schenna is always moving, also during Nordic walking, on tennis courts and golf courses, during horse riding or in the nearby ski resort Meran 2000 in winter.

Family or some time for togetherness?

Family holidays in Schenna – means swimming fun in the outdoor adventure pool, horse riding, cycling tours or crazy golf competitions. And if parents want some time for themselves: the tourism board organises a varied game, learn and adventure programme for children. Many activities with mascot Sunny are free of charge during school holidays.

Luxury hotel or farm?

Those who love a noble hotel ambience and an all-round service can choose from many accommodations, and those who prefer the personal atmosphere of a pension will also find the right place. Those who prefer to be amongst themselves can choose from various holiday apartments. And on various farms in and outside Schenna you can participate in farm life.

Vintage car rally or herb market?

Schenna offers many events all year round: from a herb market in spring to Tallner Sunday and music evenings in summer to the vintage car rally "South Tyrol Classic", which takes place twice a year – there is always something to celebrate.

Schenna - Urlaub in Südtirol

Blühende Gärten und Alpenpanorama. Feudale Schlösser und abgeschiedene Berghütten. Gourmet-Restaurants und urige Stuben. Luxushotels und historische Bauernhöfe. Wellness-Oasen und Wanderglück.

In Schenna macht die besondere Mischung aus Südtiroler Charme und mediterranem Lebensgefühl den Reiz aus. In den sieben Ortsteilen am Sonnenhang oberhalb von Meran genießen Urlauber Ferien für jeden Geschmack.

Palmen oder Almen?

Eingebettet zwischen Weinbergen und Obstwiesen erstreckt sich die Gemeinde mit ihren sieben Ortsteilen über eine Fläche von 48 Quadratkilometern. Während man in Schenna-Dorf auf 600 Metern mediterrane Lebensart unter Palmen und Zypressen genießt, ist das Ambiente im Bergdorf Videgg auf 1.536 Metern schon richtig alpin.

Apfelblüte oder goldener Herbst?

Schenna trägt an über 300 Tagen die Sonne im Herzen und ist deshalb zu jeder Jahreszeit eine Reise wert: Der Duft von Millionen Apfelblüten erfüllt die Luft im Frühling - von Anfang bis Ende April. Im Sommer versetzen Alpenrosen die Wiesen in Almenrausch. Goldgelbes Weinlaub lässt Täler und Hänge im Herbst erstrahlen. Und im Winter glitzern weiße Berggipfel unter strahlend blauem Himmel.

Waalweg oder Bergtour?

Genießern wie Gipfelstürmern bietet Schenna Wanderspaß rund um die Hausberge Hirzer (2.781 Meter) und Ifinger (2.581 Meter): Spazierwege schlängeln sich entlang von plätschernden Waalwegen. Gemütliche Wanderungen führen zu Hütten und Almen. Bei Hochgebirgstouren liegt Alpinisten das Meraner Land regelrecht zu Füßen. Das Wandergebiet von Schenna umfasst rund 200 Kilometer markierte Wege in allen Höhenlagen und Schwierigkeitsgraden. Fünf Seilbahnen und zwei Sessellifte erleichtern den Aufstieg, die Schenna Card spart bares Geld.

Geschichte oder moderne Kunst?

Vier Kirchen aus acht Jahrhunderten sowie das Habsburger-Schloss Schenna ziehen auch Kultur-Interessierte an. Im Rahmen der kunsthistorischen Führung wird ebenso das Mausoleum, letzte Ruhestätte von Erzherzog Johann, besucht. Die Gärten von Schloss Trauttmansdorff und das moderne Skulpturprojekt ArtBank zeugen von Schennas kultureller Vielfalt.

Biken oder Skitour?

Schwimmen in Pools von insgesamt fünf Kilometern Länge. Mountainbike-Tour zur Taser Alm. Oder Paragliden von der Hirzer-Mittelstation – Schenna ist immer in Bewegung, auch beim Nordic-Walking, auf Tennis- und Golfplätzen, beim Reiten oder zur Winterzeit im nah gelegenen Skigebiet Meran 2000.

Familie oder Zeit zu zweit?

Familienurlaub in Schenna – das bedeutet Badespaß im Erlebnisfreibad, Reitvergnügen, Radtour oder Minigolf-Turnier. Und wenn die Eltern mal Zeit für sich haben wollen: Für kleine Gäste veranstaltet das Tourismusbüro ein vielfältiges Spiel-, Lern- und Abenteuerprogramm. In den Ferien sind viele Aktivitäten mit Maskottchen Sunny sogar gratis.

Luxushotel oder Bauernhof?

Liebhaber von schickem Hotel-Ambiente und Rundum-Service finden ebenso viele Unterkünfte wie Gäste, die die persönliche Atmosphäre einer Pension zu schätzen wissen. Für jene, die gern unter sich sind, stehen Apartments und Ferienwohnungen zur Verfügung. Und in den Ferienhöfen in und um Schenna können Urlauber hautnah am bäuerlichen Leben teilhaben.

Oldtimer-Rallye oder Kräutermarkt?

In Schenna ist das ganze Jahr über jede Menge los: Vom Unkräutermarkt im Frühling über den Tallner Sunntig und die musikalischen „Sommerabende“ bis hin zur zweimal im Jahr stattfindenden Oldtimer-Rallye „Südtirol Classic“ – es gibt immer etwas zu feiern.